The Brave Cook

My life from the heart of Berlin!

My Hokkaido, my love!

This week was weird! Although I’m having one week of holidays I’m still not feeling relaxed. Every single day is running by so fast. I really don’t know how to stick to my tight schedule for this week. At least the weather is more sunny than rainy this week so that I could capture one hour of sun today.

I think I need to remind everyone who reads this blog that I’m far from being a professional cook. I’m an amateur learning how to cook and trying to improve myself day by day. Of course, that doesn’t mean I’m such a horrible cook. To prove you that I’m able to deliver some decent recipes I’m presenting you today another creative dish made with two adorable fruits: Hokkaido squash and pomegranate!

I was thinking a long time if there’s actually an english name for the japanese hokkaido squash. The hokkaido orange squash that I’m using for my recipe is quite common here in Germany, but I haven’t really seen them in the US yet. Whatever, it is definitely a lot of fun to prepare stuffed hokkaido squash with rice and pomegranate! What is more, it is the perfect dish when you’re planning to invite guests and to surprise them!

Stuffed hokkaido squash with rice and pomegranate

Ingredients

  • 1 small round hokkaido
  • 1 pomegranate
  • 1 bag or 1 cup of rice
  • 5 shiitake or oyster mushrooms
  • 2 cherry tomatoes
  • fresh herbs such as parsley, dill or else
  • rose leaves, fresh or brewed in tea

Instructions

Cut off the top part of the squash as seen in the picture above. Use a sharp knife, hold it at an angle to the chopping board and carefully cut round the top of the squash, cutting out a shallow cone. Use a teaspoon to scoop out and discard the seeds and the stringy fibers.

Boil the rice in a small saucepan until it is tender. In the meantime, half the pomegranate along its equator and, holding the cut side over a bowl, beat the seeds out of it by bashing the skin with the end of a rolling pin or a wooden spoon. Of course, you can also scoop them out with your fingers.

Chop the mushrooms and the tomatoes, put them in a saucepan and sauté them for 3 – 5 minutes. Take a bowl, put the boiled rice with the mushrooms, the tomatoes and the pomegranate seeds in it. Chop some fresh dill or other fresh herbs and add them to the other ingredients in the bowl. Now knead everything with your hands or with a big spoon until it is incorporated.

I also brewed up some rose tea to add a few rose leaves into the rice. You can leave it out or simply put some rose leaves on top of the squash for decoration. I love to use eatable flowers, especially roses, for my dishes. Of course you can use fresh rose leaves too!

Preheat the oven to 180℃. Spoon the rice with all ingredients into the quash. Put the cut top back on the squash and bake for 30 minutes until the squash flesh starts to get tender. You can test it with skewer. The best way is to serve it hot out of the oven!Enjoy your stuffed squash, the next squash recipe is on its way!

The Brave Cook

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “My Hokkaido, my love!

  1. greenbunnie on said:

    The presentation is beautiful! This looks really delicious, pomegranate really adds some wonderful flavor and texture

  2. petit4chocolatier on said:

    This looks delicious!

    I found a recipe in a magazine with acorn squash that I may attempt to make. Yours looks so good! I am definitely going to try it now.

  3. Looks like great flavors going on in this dish. The caramelization on the squash is beautiful! I would sprinkle some kosher salt and pepper over the squash before filling and roasting to enchance the flavors of the squash and fillings. Since I’m in the US, I’ll have to try it with some other squash.

  4. So beautiful ! I love food and eating and this just makes me wanna eat it !
    Looks like you had fun making it too ! yummy …

  5. Healthy Glow Nutrition on said:

    Rose tea? Sounds wonderful!!! I love rose water and I am not sure if the tastes are the same? This looks like a great dish to serve to company. Such a nice presentation 🙂

  6. I’m not sure I know that pumpkin, but I could try it with another type of pumpkin. I can see why you call yourself the brave cook. You really do push yourself out of that comfort zone, don’t you? Nice.

Leave a comment

Sree is travelling

Travel blog of Sreejith Vijayakumar

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

India Food Club

Connecting all foodies in India....

The Wanderboy

Breathing room for all my stories.

TO LOVE THAN TO BE LOVED

..for it is by self-forgetting that one finds..

FWST

Celebrate you , Celebrate STYLE

I Am Not In England

Lifting the curtain between here and there.

Blue Diamond Society

Blue Diamond Society's blog site

thegaycatholicguy

gay or catholic ? ... or both

LGBTQ HealthLink

Proud Program of CenterLink: The Community of LGBT Centers

wearabout

Street style, fashion, textiles, and talking to people.

Life, Photography & Other Mistakes - is now dormant

Follow my new blog: https://lifephotographyandothermistakes.wordpress.com

Adventures in Wonderland

a pilgrimage of the heart

The Barby Bulletin

news and musings from a subcontinent stay

Tanuja Yadupathi

Travel | Photography | Trekking

Behind Your Screen

Get thinner, but deeper

Charming Whimsy

http://www.etsy.com/shop/CharmingWhimsy

borscht and babushkas

mostly adventures from peace corps ukraine

The Kitchen's Garden

Sustainable. Self Sufficient. Loving the Land. Join Us!

Vegetarian 'Ventures

A Vegetarian Food Blog with a Twist of Adventure

gotasté

recipes for life

Lakshmi Loves To Shop

The Nirvana of travel, shopping and spirituality...

Urban Cottage Life

modern scratch living

veggiezest

Vegan & Vegetarian recipes from around the world

the searched - searched

My life from the heart of Berlin!

zenlifeastra

Eyes are the Window of your Soul