The Brave Cook

My life from the heart of Berlin!

The Smurfs are coming!

Last week I presented you some of my sewing projects and the reactions were so good that I decided to present you more here on my blog. Next to cooking sewing is another big hobby of me and I don’t want to refrain from sharing my sewing experiences with you the same I do with my cooking. When it comes to cooking I’m an amateur. Regarding my sewing it’s not so easy to estimate my skills, but I’m trying things out and I’m determined to get better and better. Learning to sew means to me to create different things. Last week I have presented you a waistcoat and an altered bag. This week I tried to make something new out of an old piece of cloth. Actually, I made some underwear out of a t-shirt.

I was not planning to make mens underwear out of a t-shirt this week, but looking for some leftover fabric in my closet I’ve found an old smurf t-shirt. Yes, it was in fact mine! I had even worn that t-shirt a couple of times at work! This t-shirt was so cute that I decided to make something out of the smurf motif. The smurfs have been my favorite cartoon as a little kid and I still love the way they look. I immediately got the idea of making underwear out of it. First of all, the material was very stretchy and second I know some mens underwear with colorful prints and I always loved it. So I decided to make an underwear pant with a colorful smurf print on the back.

If you are planning to turn a piece of cloth into something else you just need to be sure that the material is appropriate for your idea and you also need to check if there is enough material from the piece that you’re using. My old t-shirt was cut very tight and I had to check first if the length and breadth would be enough to fit my hip area. Fortunately, it fitted perfectly on my hips so that I would not even have to cut the sides open. I simply had to cut off the upper part of the t-shirt including smurfette. I love smurfette a lot, that’s why I kept her to use her for another project in the future.I could have made the pant with the print in the front, but I wanted to make a lining in the front and the motif would look better in the back. I also found a waistband that was formerly a part of another shirt. I thought it would look good on the pant and give it a sporty look. I think I made a very clean and nice looking finish. I should remember that for the next time. Trying the pant on it was feeling very comfortable. Hope you also like the fit and the design of it considering that it was made out of a t-shirt!For all of you who are waiting for another recipe: I will definitely post more recipes on my blog, but I will also share with you my sewing projects and other things out of my life! So my blog will be an interesting mixture!

The Brave Cook

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “The Smurfs are coming!

  1. I think many people will appreciate this interesting mixture that is your blog!

  2. lakshmilovestoshop on said:

    So funny…thank you

  3. Our Adventure in Croatia on said:

    funny, creative, what a way to re-use an old T-shirt!!

  4. emilyannfrances on said:

    Very clever use of the old t-shirt. I think it’s soooooo cute.

  5. I think you are very brave working with stretch knit. It is tricky. Love your undies!

  6. This is so wonderful – the Smurfs were a massive part of my childhood. The undies look great!

Leave a comment

Sree is travelling

Travel blog of Sreejith Vijayakumar

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

India Food Club

Connecting all foodies in India....

The Wanderboy

Breathing room for all my stories.

TO LOVE THAN TO BE LOVED

..for it is by self-forgetting that one finds..

FWST

Celebrate you , Celebrate STYLE

I Am Not In England

Lifting the curtain between here and there.

Blue Diamond Society

Blue Diamond Society's blog site

thegaycatholicguy

gay or catholic ? ... or both

LGBTQ HealthLink

Proud Program of CenterLink: The Community of LGBT Centers

wearabout

Street style, fashion, textiles, and talking to people.

Life, Photography & Other Mistakes - is now dormant

Follow my new blog: https://lifephotographyandothermistakes.wordpress.com

Adventures in Wonderland

a pilgrimage of the heart

The Barby Bulletin

news and musings from a subcontinent stay

Tanuja Yadupathi

Travel | Photography | Trekking

Behind Your Screen

Get thinner, but deeper

Charming Whimsy

http://www.etsy.com/shop/CharmingWhimsy

borscht and babushkas

mostly adventures from peace corps ukraine

The Kitchen's Garden

Sustainable. Self Sufficient. Loving the Land. Join Us!

Vegetarian 'Ventures

A Vegetarian Food Blog with a Twist of Adventure

gotasté

recipes for life

Lakshmi Loves To Shop

The Nirvana of travel, shopping and spirituality...

Urban Cottage Life

modern scratch living

veggiezest

Vegan & Vegetarian recipes from around the world

the searched - searched

My life from the heart of Berlin!

zenlifeastra

Eyes are the Window of your Soul